Another Guns N’ Roses Album?

It’s late…but there is another post left in me today.

Guns N' RosesCurrent Guns N’ Roses guitarist, D.J. Ashba, indicated, last week, that a new album would not take long to complete.  The other GN’R guitarist, Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal, posted on Facebook indicating the process had not even begun.

Among the myriad of production phases he listed as yet to be completed were basic steps such as getting in the same room and jamming…that is a rather important step on the ladder to releasing an album…the first step, actually.  I would not announce the release of an album until the group could consistently be in the same place long enough to know what the band is doing.  Apparently, the guitarists are recording different albums.  They have not even started the ball rolling.

Chinese Democracy album illustrationMy favorite thing on the list is getting a schedule and other details, from the record label, of which Axl approves.  I remember the gallons of feces Axl spewed for the better part of ten years leading to the release of Chinese Democracy. I remember watching the footage of the 2002 MTV Music awards and hearing “Madagascar.”  This is not the MTV footage, but it is a good version of the song as performed at Rock in Rio 2001.  I saw the MTV footage in 2005, and I thought, “wow, maybe this album will be out soon, considering they performed songs from the album in 2001.”  No-o-o…I downloaded the demo, was not impressed and forgot about it—until I saw an ad for its release last year.  I skimmed it, and nothing caught me immediately.  Now that I think of it, I will look more into that album.

Axl RoseIt is hard to give the album merit when Axl Rose is…Axl Rose.  I remember when former GN’R members Slash and Duff McKagan (guitarist and bassist, respectively) sued him in 2005 for affecting their royalty flow.  Then, he countered in 2006 by filing suit against Slash, wanting a judge to confirm he owned his own stuff or something to that nature.  Then, in March of this year (2010 for those who do not know) GN’R manager, Irving Azoff, sued the frontman for unpaid fees to the tune of about $1.8 million.  In May, Rose struck back, painting Azoff to be a manager so Machiavellian in his dealings, “Pebbles” (and her ordeal with that one group, TLC) comes to mind.

Not saying Azoff stole a lot of money from GN’R, just saying Rose painted this guy out to be bad news, and I remembered the manager from the TLC episode of VH1’s Behind the Music series I saw more than seven years ago.  That show had some great episodes, though the TLC episode was not one of them.

Axl Rose even entertains delusions that Azoff was trying to force him to reunite the original line-up.  I think it is safe to say that is never going to happen.  Given past experience, we can assume the album will be ready in 2019.  Personally, I do not care if this album is ever released.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

