Voice Over Equipment

In my last shameless grab for a blog, I mentioned my microphone.  I decided I might as well list my equipment, though a long list it is not.

First is the microphone.  It is an MXL V88 large diaphragm condenser microphone.  I got it because it was the best I could afford, given my budget at the time.  I am very happy with it.  It performs flawlessly for vocal recordings, and it also comes in handy when recording acoustic guitar tracks.

Next is the mixer.  I have a Behringer XENYX X1204USB…basically, the USB version of the XENYX X1204.  It is an eight-track mixer (5-6 and 7-8 are stereo channels).  The main selling points for me were the British-style EQ knobs, the fact it had EQ knobs and integrated compressors on four channels with XENYX preamps for the same channels.  There is another, however—it has a USB interface, allowing for real-time transfer to my laptop without latency.  That is actually the main reason, as I could not afford a multitrack recorder on my budget.  The onboard effects processor is a nice bonus.

Those are my main pieces.  Pulling everything together is Audacity 1.3.12 Beta version.  I used Sony Acid Pro 7.0 a few times, but Audacity is perfect for quick track-by-track recording (and much easier to use).

Holding up the microphone is a standard scissor-style stand.  Mogami Silver Series cable is providing the connection, and the sound is provided by Sennheiser headphones during recording.  During playback, a pair of M-Audio AV40 monitors allow for an accurate preview.  I have played the speakers extra loud to see when it would distort, and it did not.  For the cone size, the speakers give excellent response to all frequency ranges, including bass range.

Tags:

One Response to “Voice Over Equipment”

  1. bet365 Says:

    Good day I was fortunate to approach your Topics in digg
    your post is fine
    I obtain a lot in your website really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really excellent
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

